Posted in Books

Huffpuffs for the win!

//Yes, another Harry Potter post. Deal with it.

So, I had to rejoin Pottermore. 

Don’t kill me, don’t kill me, I don’t remember when it happened, but it appears that Pottermore has been completely redesigned since I was last a member there. I had a ridiculous username I made up myself, and I think I was a Gryffindor when I joined. I remember being very pleased with myself about it.

But then I got real busy because of all the work I’ve been having to do, and I would keep up with Harry Potter news via articles I read on Facebook. I haven’t been on Pottermore in a while, but I did decide to take a look at the website because of the whole Cursed Child fiasco. 

To my surprise, I couldn’t log in with my username. I had to rejoin. And once I did, being the rational idiot that I am, I decided not to reclaim my wand and house, but to take the new quiz instead, as that would be the fairest means of being tested. And guess what? Everything changed! 

I went from brave and determined to steadfast, loyal and hard working in about 60 seconds! I got a new wand, and I got sorted to-no prizes for guessing-Hufflepuff! Wohoo.

I’ve got to admit that at first, I was a little disappointed. Just a teeny weeny bit because part of me wanted to be the ambitious and cunning Slytherin that knows the ways of the world and I got Hufflepuff instead, seemingly the antithesis of Slytherin’s qualities. 

However, the Sorting Hat is never wrong and I shall stick by its decision, mostly because I now seem to identify with the house somehow, and, after a lot of impartial deliberation, I’ve decided that it’s truly the best of the four. 

You want to know why?

Our dorms be the best

So far, no book in the Harry Potter series has described the Hufflepuff dormitories. But Pottermore had put up a description long ago: they’re located near the kitchens! And have a look at it: airy, fresh, green, homely. How cool is that? 

Who in their right mind would not want that as a common room? Also, this comes straight from Pottermore: “As a security device to repel non-Hufflepuffs, tapping on the wrong barrel, or tapping the incorrect number of times, results in one of the other lids bursting off and drenching the interloper in vinegar.”

I reckon that’s a better punishment than just being left outside a dorm looking stupid. Who says we ain’t vicious? 

 We’re the friendliest of people, with a lot of chill. Not to be confused with lazy potatoes

The thing about Hufflepuffs is that we’re loyal, steadfast, good companions who don’t rush around vying for glory. We’re all for doing things properly and taking life easy. Our YOLO is of a different kind-you only live once so make sure you’re happy and don’t stress yourself and lose your health and happiness over some little thing that may not matter years later. Calm down. Work hard, but keep the spirit of competition alive. The healthy one, not the envious one that keeps you up at night. 

http://img.memecdn.com/

We’re fair and freakin’ impartial

Okay, this may seem a tiny bit rich coming from me. A lot of times, it’s best to be honest and objective when reviewing something and it isn’t going to do you any good if you keep insisting that you were right when you clearly know that in both the sides of the argument, you’re the one who’s faulty. I, granted, still have a lot of trouble being objective during my own arguments, but as an observer, I think I can be quite objective.

For example, my school recently took a band to a talent festival at another school. The winning band was amazing. However, my school did not win a prize and so my schoolmates were quick to trash the winning school and the winning band, simply because they didn’t try to notice our own shortcomings. Our band performed really well but the winners won because they were better. I have no trouble admitting that, and I think I’m the only one from my entire school platoon to think so. 

We are NOT a house full of idiots.

http://66.media.tumblr.com/

In fact, we’re some of the best effing witches and wizards out there. Okay, there’s some sort of weird misconception that Hufflepuffs are stupid and naive.

We’re sweet, but we’re not the sort of people to sit down and take shit. We’re not going to be polite if you’re acting like a douche so our response to you is an accurate reflection of your response to us. See? Fair. Badgers are a really good representation of our personalities, actually. Like JK puts it, “we know how to lie low”, but when provoked, we’ll be fighting tooth and nail. Just know that you’ve got to do something really offensive or annoying for a Hufflepuff to get down and make things get ugly. I’m one of the more touchy members of this house, but I’m working on it!

We’re loyal. And we like to work, work, work, work, work

You needed Rihanna to tell you that? Huh. Too bad baby; we’re ahead of you because that’s what we are. We’re hard-working people. Are we talented? Hell, yes. But we make sure to make ourselves better and better by working till we drop. Even if that doesn’t get us results immediately. We’re resilient that way. As for jumping on the bandwagon? That behaviour that irks people all around the world? We’d never do that. That’s some love and support for ya. 

Our list of students (and Muggles now) reads like the who’s who of great people:

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com

Newt Scamander, Pomona Sprout, Nymphadora Tonks, Cedric Diggory (bless his soul),And Bridget Wenlock, Teddy Lupin, freakin’ Helga Hufflepuff, Dwayne “THE ROCK” Johnson, MATHEW LEWIS, RUPERT GRINT, and…me. (Kidding. I suck.) And, according to this list , these people are Hufflepuffs too: Tom Hanks, Kristin Chenoweth, Leonardo DiCaprio, Bob Marley, and Pocahontas. And this article talks about why Deadpool is totally Hufflin’. 

We’ve produced the least number of Dark wizards over the ages.

It’s statistically true. Even Gryffindor has got more dodgy characters than we do. (Does the name Peter Pettigrew come to mind?)

Hufflepuff is JK’s favourite Hogwarts House.

J.K. Rowling says this about how they act during the Battle of Hogwarts. ‘The Hufflepuffs, virtually to a person, stay – as do the Gryffindors. Now, the Gryffindors comprise a lot of foolhardy and show-offy people… You know, there’s bravery and there’s also showboating, and sometimes the two go together. The Hufflepuffs stayed for a different reason. They weren’t trying to show off, they weren’t being reckless. That’s the essence of Hufflepuff House.’

Oh, snap!

Hufflepuff be the most democratic  and accpeting house at Hogwarts

“I’ll teach the lot and treat them just the same”, she said. That, ladies and gentlemen, is what everybody wants today-equality! Give everybody the same treatment and let them see what they become. Everybody is worthy-they just need to know it. Take that, judgemental people who say Hufflepuffs are losers. Take that.

We’ve got the friendliest Ghost.

So you’ve got overly pompous (and helpful, of course) Nearly Headless Nick, the weepy, moppy, sappy Grey Lady, the ferocious and unapproachable Baron-and then we have this jolly man, the Fat Friar, who’s one regret in life is that he wasn’t made a cardinal. He’s the first ghost to be kind to the First Years in book one. Such an approachable, wonderful guy!

To everyone who thinks we’re losers: Tonks was in Hufflepuff

She was fun, wild (Bubblegum-pink hair?), cool and everyone loves her. She’s tough, she’s talented and though she’s a bit clumsy, she means well and can shut anyone down like a Boss Witch. Also, did Harry give birth and go fight Voldemort right after? Yeah, that’s what I thought.

The nickname is ADORABLE

HuffPuff. Can it get more kawaii? 

I also got a new wand!

Yes, apparently Vine Wood is used to make wands. Who knew, right? Again, a teeny bit disappointed, because I was hoping for something more exotic-like Veela hair, but then I remembered that Veela hair wasn’t really Ollivander’s style, so I’m guessing that I’d never have got a wand like that anyway. 

Apparently vine wood is really rare and looks for witches and wizards who seek a greater purpose, who have a vision beyond the ordinary and who frequently astound those who think they know them best. Vine wands seem “strongly attracted by personalities with hidden depths”, and have found to be “more sensitive than any other when it comes to instantly detecting a prospective match.”

Screen Shot 2016-08-13 at 10.31.28 AM.png

Also, taken from Pottermore: “Unicorn hair generally produces the most consistent magic, and is least subject to fluctuations and blockages. Wands with unicorn cores are generally the most difficult to turn to the Dark Arts. They are the most faithful of all wands, and usually remain strongly attached to their first owner, irrespective of whether he or she was an accomplished witch or wizard.”

I think the most important thing I learned from this experience of mine is that people really can change.  Dumbledore was definitely right in saying Hogwarts Sorts too soon. In fact, this means that you-yes you, you Slytherin over there-you have the potential to become a chivalrous Gryffindor show-off (sorry, couldn’t resist) or a witty, sarcastic Ravenclaw, or to come on down to the kitchens below and revel in the sheer fairness, discipline, love and harmony that characterises the lives of us badgers. 

Oh yes-I also read about an “Ilvermorny” school, and I think it’s an American school of witchcraft and wizardry.

So let me know all about your Pottermore experiences! Which house do you belong do? What do you know about Ilvermorny? Do you agree with the Sorting hat about the house you’re in? Why (not)? Perhaps you’ve got an article that challenges my views and you want me to take a look at it?

If you haven’t been officially Sorted, what are you doing, Potterhead?Join Pottermore right now!

Cheers,

Alpha ❤︎

  

Author:

Entrusted with running The Commonplace Chronicles. Loves dogs, ice creams and pizzas. Big, big Potterhead and proud Hufflepuff. Wants to rule the world (See, we can be ambitious!)...or maybe just a big library. (Ravenclaws aren't the only people who like reading? Look at Hermione, for Merlin's sake!) Likes making new friends and meeting Pokémon. Heil Humdrum. Alpha Out.

Leave a Reply

